The Department of Tamil was started in the year 1961, (the year in which Tagore Government Arts and Science College was started) as a language department with few faculty members.

In 1973 this department got the status of Main dept., since then B.A. Tamil Degree course is offered here.

From 1979 onwards PG Degree (M.A. Tamil) course was offered to fulfill the thirst in continuing higher studies of the local students who met so many hardships to persuade their PG Degree.

At present Tamil dept., is one of the biggest depts., of this Institution. Now 19(Nineteen) staff members are working here. Out of them, two members are deputed to handle classes at Perunthalaivar Kamarajar Govt. Arts College , Madagadipet.

The Sanctioned strength for admission to the I year degree course is 30. SO the total no. of students in three years will be usually 90. Due to more number of aspirants and the demand in getting admission for B.A. Tamil Degree, the sanctioned strength is increased from 30 to 40 for the academic year 2003-2004.

B.A. Tamil students of this college have to study both traditional as well as modern fields of knowledge. The papers prescribed as allied subject are (a) Journalism (b) Mass-media (Radio Television) (c) Cinema and (d) Advertisement. These subjects are useful for our student to find employment opportunities and/or go for self-employment.

We have prescribed Translation as a paper for III year students. This paper will enrich our student�s effective communication skills both in English and Tamil. We are sure that if they are well versed in both languages, enormous chances are there in the information sector and a better future is awaiting for them.

Our department library have with a collection of nearly four hundred books which are useful for ready reference.

Tamil Faculty
Dr. V. Karunanthi, M.A., M.Phil., M.Ed., Ph.D.                              HOD

Dr. G. Ravathi , M.A., Ph.D., D.S.S, PGDJMC., D.C.A.,

Dr. A. Vijayarani, M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.,Cert. in Hindi.,

Dr. N. Rani,M.A.,M.Phil.,Ph.D.

Dr. G. Gnanaguru,M.A.,M.Phil.,Ph.D.

Dr. T. Thamaraiselvi, M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.,

Dr. G. Kannan, M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., B.Ed( Anthropology)

Dr. R. Aquila M.A., M.Phil., B.Ed.,Ph.D.

Dr. N. Gayatri, M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., NET

Mrs. P. Saraladevi, M.A., M.Phil., B.Ed., Ling.

Mrs. M. Pazaniammalle, M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., NET

Mr. R. Kovalan, M.A., M.Phil., M.Ed., Ph.D.,

Dr. Vinoth Vasudevan M.A., M.Phil., M.Ed., Ph.D.,

The order of names in the list is in alphabetical order only until further Govt. order